Families

The Oshkosh Area School District strives to provide families with the resources they need to ensure their children's success.  This page contains a wide range of information for Emmeline Cook Elementary School parents/guardians. If there is something you are unable to locate, please use the search tool in the upper right-hand corner of this page to search within the Emmeline Cook Elementary School website, or contact the school office and we will be happy to assist you. 

NOTE: To search for district resources, please navigate to the district homepage and use the search tool in the upper right-hand corner.

Important Information

2019-20 Out of Attendance & Open Enrollement Info

Welcome / Registration Letter (2019-2020)

August 2019


Greetings Emmeline Cook Families,
I would like to take this opportunity to welcome all students and parents to the 2019-20 school year. The Emmeline Cook staff looks forward to a safe and successful year. Below are a few key items to assist you in preparing for the school year.

  •  The school day will begin at 7:45 and end at 2:45.
  •  Students taking advantage of the breakfast program will eat in their classrooms to get a jump start on the day.
  •  Get To Know You conferences will be held prior to school on August 29th from 11:30 to 6:30. You will receive a notice in Infinite Campus with a link to sign up for your conference. Students are encouraged to attend with supplies to drop off.
  • Welcome to new staff Ms. Colwin (Building Secretary), and Mrs. Yang (1st Grade).
  • School supply lists are at local stores (Target, Shopko, Walmart

As our staff continues to provide a safe school environment for all students at Emmeline Cook, we have found it necessary to review some expectations of our families to help provide the safest and distraction free environment before, during and after school hours. Therefore we are asking your help to enforce the following expectations:

  •  Students should not be dropped off before 7:30 . There is no before school programming. Supervision is provided beginning at 7:30.
  •  Students waiting for rides after 3:00 must wait in the office. The office will make calls to individuals on the contact list.
  •  When students are dropped off, they must walk around the school to the playground. Students will not be permitted in the building before 7:45.
  •  5th grade patrols will be permitted to enter the hallway at 7:30 to prepare for their duty.
  •  Drop-Off/Pick-up/Parking-East side of Hazel St (in front of playground/bike racks) is for DROP-OFF ONLY, please do NOT park. If you need to park and escort your child(ren) into school, please park on Nevada St, or on the West side of Hazel St (opposite of the school)
  • The circle drive in front of school after 7:25 is for BUSES ONLY during morning drop off & afternoon pick up.
  •  To alleviate congestion and increase security the school doors will be locked at 7:50 and monitored by our video/voice system until 2:45. As for all other times during the day, parents and family members will be let in to volunteer or participate in other school activities. Family members will not be permitted to wait in the lobby for classes to be released.
  • On inclement weather days the doors will be opened at 7:30 and all students are permitted to wait outside their room until class begins.
  •  To avoid any distraction or theft, toys are not allowed at school. This includes Pokemon Cards and Fidget Spinners. Any such items will be held by the teacher until the end of the day.

We really appreciate your cooperation with these efforts and look forward to a successful school year. If there are any
questions or concerns please feel free to contact me 424-0152.

Welcome back!

School Supplies List

Kindergarten (K)

 

First Grade (1st)

 

Second Grade (2nd)

Large Backpack*

 

Large Backpack*

 

Large Backpack*

Child-sized Headphones*

 

Child-sized Headphones*

 

Earbuds / Headphones*

8 Glue Sticks

 

6 Glue Sticks

 

Pencil Box*

1 Box of Crayons (24ct)

 

1 Box of Crayons (24ct)

 

1 Box of Crayons (24ct)

Fiskar Scissors

 

Fiskar Scissors (pointed)

 

Scissors

1 Pack of Pencils (w/ Erasers) 8-10 qty

 

2 Packs of #2 Pencils (wood only)

 

2 Packs of #2 Pencils (wood only)

Papermate Black Felt Tip Pens

 

1 Pack Pencil Top Erasers

 

2 Composition Notebooks*

Washable, Wide Crayola Markers, Basic Colors

 

2 Boxes Washable, Wide Crayola Markers, Basic Colors, 10 qty

 

2 Boxes Washable, Wide Crayola Markers, Basic Colors*

1 Composition Notebook*

 

3 Plastic Folders* 

(1 Green, 1 Red, 1 Blue)

 

5 Plastic Folders* (1 Green, 1 Red, 1 Blue, 1 Yellow and 1 other)

1 Yellow, 2-Pocket, Folder*

 

2 Wide Lined Spiral Notebooks*(1 Yellow, 1 Red)

 

2 Wide Ruled Spiral Notebooks

1 Box Tissues

 

1 Container Disinfecting Wipes

 

1, 3-Ring Binder (1 ½”)

Ziplock Bags:

  • Last Name beginning with 

A thru M = Quart size bags

 
  • Last Name beginning with

N thru Z = Gallon size bags

 

Ziplock Bags:

  • Last Name beginning with A thru M = Quart size bags

 
  • Last Name beginning with N thru Z = Gallon size bags

 

Ziplock Bags:

  • Last Name beginning with A thru M = Quart size bags

 
  • Last Name beginning with N thru Z = Gallon size bags

Art Shirt* in Ziploc Bag*

 

2 Large Boxes Tissues

 

1 Pack Wide Ruled Loose Leaf Paper

Velcro Tennis Shoes*                  (to be kept at school for Gym)

 

Art Shirt* in Ziploc Bag*

 

Tennis Shoes*                             to be kept at school for Gym)

Extra Set of Clothes*                   In Ziplock Bag* (pants, shirt, underwear, socks)

 

Tennis Shoes*                            (to be kept at school for Gym)

 

Art Shirt* in Ziploc Bag*

Child-sized PLASTIC Floor Mat*

     

2 Large Boxes Tissues

         

Third Grade (3rd)

 

Fourth Grade (4th)

 

Fifth Grade (5th)

Large Backpack*

 

Large Backpack*

 

Large Backpack*

Earbuds / Headphones*

 

Earbuds / Headphones*

 

Earbuds / Headphones*

Pencil Box*

 

Pencil Box*

 

Pencil Box or Bag*

Colored Pencils, 24 Qty*

 

Colored Pencils, 24 Qty*

 

Colored Pencils (or Crayons)*

1 Pack of 3” x 3” Post-its

 

1 Pack of 3” x 3” Post-its

 

4 Packs of 3” x 3” Post-its

Pencil Sharpener*

 

Pencil Sharpener*

 

Ruler (12 Inch / Metric)*

3 Glue Sticks

 

3 Glue Sticks

 

4 Glue Sticks

1 Box of Markers, qty 8*

 

Markers*

 

Markers

Scissors*

 

Scissors*

 

Scissors (4” or 8”)

3 Packs of #2 Pencils (wood only)

 

24,  #2 Pencils (wood only)

 

24,  #2 Pencils (wood only)

1 Pack Pencil Top Erasers, 10-20 qty

 

1 Pack Pencil Top Erasers

 

1 Pack Pencil Top Erasers

Ruler (12 Inch / Metric)*

 

6 Pocket Folders* 

(1 Green, 1 Red, 1 Blue, 1Yellow and 2 others)

 

1 Plastic Poly Expanding Folder  (minimum 6 pockets)

1 Plastic Poly Expanding Folder*

(4 - 7 pockets)

 

6 Spiral Notebooks, Wide Lined*

(1 Green, 1 Red, 1 Blue,             1 Yellow and 2 others)

 

6 Spiral Notebooks, Wide Lined*(1 Green, 1 Red, 1 Blue, 1 Yellow and 2 others)

1 Plastic Pocket Folder*

 

1 Box of Crayons (24ct)*

 

1 Pack Wide Ruled Loose Leaf Paper

1, 5-Subject, Spiral Notebook*

 

1 Composition Notebook*

 

Ziplock Bags, Sandwich size

Ziplock Bags:

  • Last Name beginning with A thru L = Sandwich size bags

 
  • Last Name beginning with M thru Z = Gallon size bags

 

Ziplock Bags:

  • Last Name beginning with A thru M = Quart size bags

 
  • Last Name beginning with N thru Z = Gallon size bags

 

3 Large Boxes of Tissues

1 Composition Notebook*

 

2 Large Boxes of Tissues

 

Art Shirt* in Ziploc Bag*

1 Pack Wide Ruled Loose Leaf Paper

 

Art Shirt* in Ziploc Bag*

 

Tennis Shoes*                            (to be kept at school for Gym)

1 Whiteboard Eraser 

(or clean, used sock)

 

Tennis Shoes*                            to be kept at school for Gym)

   

3 Large Boxes of Tissues

       

Tennis Shoes*                              (to be kept at school for Gym)

       

Art Shirt* in Ziploc Bag*

       

Emmeline Cook Staff Contact Info

Staff Name

Position

Extension

E-Mail Address

Ruhl, Mike

Principal

1002

michael.ruhl@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Colwin, Bethany

Secretary

1001

bethany.colwin@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Vis, Kari

Office/Para - 3rd

6825

kari.vis@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Thiel, Mara

Counselor

1003

mara.thiel@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Priebe, Michelle

Lighted School House

6508

michelle.priebe@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Smithson, Michelle

Social Worker

6728

michelle.smithson@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Brefczynski, Angelica

Psychologist

6073

angelica.brefczynski@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Groth, Steve

Custodian

6259

steve.groth@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Freeman, Steve

Custodian

n/a

steve.freeman@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

KINDERGARTEN

     

Langkau, Abby

KG Teacher

6404

abby.langkau@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Oswald, Sarah

KG Teacher

6547

sarah.oswald@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Pettit, Jaci

Cross Cat Teacher -K, 1st & 2nd

6988

jaci.mcmahon@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Coopman, Laura

Para - K, 1st & 2nd

6118

laura.coopman@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Langacker, Katherine

Para - K, 1st & 2nd

6957

katherine.langacker@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

1ST GRADE

     

Hawley, Tracy

1st Gr. Teacher

6288

tracy.hawley@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Yang, Hannah

1st Gr. Teacher

6985

hannah.yang@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

2ND GRADE

     

Zangl, Steve

2nd Gr. Teacher

6301

steven.zangl@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Knoblock, Madeline

2nd Gr. Teacher

6738

madeline.knoblock@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

3RD GRADE

     

Devermann, Callie

3rd Gr. Teacher

6154

callie.devermann@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Ruedinger, Kellie

3rd Gr. Teacher

6638

kellie.ruedinger@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Meisinger, Molly

Cross Cat 

Teacher -  3rd

6474

molly.meisinger@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Reitzner, Amanda

Para  - 3rd 

n/a

amanda.bradshaw@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

4TH GRADE

     

Marshall, Kayla

4th Gr. Teacher

6451

kayla.marshall@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Zangl, Tracy

4th Gr. Teacher

6892

tracy.zangl@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Pinkerton, Brenda

Cross Cat

Teacher - 4th & 5th

6570

brenda.pinkerton@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Wetterau, Joanne

Para - 4th &5th

6858

joanne.wetterau@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

5TH GRADE

     

Lotten, Kim

5th Gr. Teacher

6983

kim.lotten@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Oehler, Tom

5th Gr. Teacher

6532

thomas.oehler@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

SPECIALISTS

     

Birr, Jane

Speech

6055

jane.birr@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Byrom, Deb

Music

6095

deborah.byrom@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Edelstein, Megan

OT/PT

N/A

megan.edelstein@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Jaworski, Barb

OT/PT

6984

barbara.jaworski@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Koerner, Kari

Literacy

6379

kari.koerner@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Kohl, Tim

IST

6381

timothy.kohl@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Logterman, Heather

Media Asst.

6434

heather.logterman@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Mueller, Amanda

Art

6502

amanda.mueller@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Nguyen, Amy

Literacy

6521

amy.nguyen@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Rietz, Nicole

PE

6618

nicole.rietz@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Vang, Zong

Math & Science IST

6818

zong.vang@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Thomson, Ann

PST

6783

ann.thomson@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Van Damme, Faye

ELL

6804

faye.vandamme@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Xiong, Houa

ELL

6987

houa.xiong@oshkosh.k12.wi.us

Food Service

     

Zellmer, Everet

     

Rose, Dawn

     

Koch, Karen

     

OASD Teacher & Student School Calendar (2019-2020)

Emmeline Cook Report Card

Emmeline Cook Title 1 Program Plan (2018-2019)

OASD Centralized Registration (2019-2020)

Oshkosh Little Free Libraries

 

Little Free Library Locations

https://www.facebook.com/Oshkosh-WI-Little-Free-Libraries-486842604822253/

Emmeline Cook Elementary School

1115 E New York Ave

Piggly Wiggly

St. Andrew’s Church on Murdock

1804 Menominee Dr-has been updated to a larger library

Webster Stanley School 

1832 Fairview St

Stevens Park on Frankfort St.

Washington Elementary School

370 Bowen

1329 Winnebago Ave

728 E Irving Ave

Oaklawn Elementary School

1221 Jackson St

213 W New York Ave

1617 Jackson St

Merrill Middle School

742 Franklin St

Oshkosh North High School

907 W New York

1117 Congress

Read Elementary School

1329 Congress

Lincoln Hall

700 W Linwood Ave-Possibly been removed 

Franklin Elementary School

910 N Sawyer St

1130 N Westfield St

307 Sawyer

1402 Catherine Ave

Jefferson Elementary School

915 W 5th Ave

 

132 W South Park

352 W 15th Ave

 

South Park Middle School

1703 Michigan St

190 Lake Pointe Dr

2880 Newport Ave

815 S Westhaven Dr

1805 S Westhaven Dr

1260 Maricopa Dr

BP Gas Station on Omro Rd

240 W 9th Ave

145 W 24th Ave

1235 Greenfield Trail

1835 Fabry st

1616 Grove 

Oshkosh Area Humane Society

Corner of Knapp and Durfee

1633 Doemel

Carl Traeger

West High School 

1349 Congress 

 

 

Suicide Prevention Resources

Medical Treatment Request Forms